Communication Channels

Call centre and customer protection
 

Accessibility Options

  • A+
  • A
  • A-

Preferred Colours

Night Vision

Translate this page to

The Ministry is not responsible for the translation output by Google.

Breadcrumb

Learn About

Our Participation in Government Initiatives

Asset Publisher

null Year of Zayed

Year of Zayed

Year of Zayed

Commemorating the timeless legacy of the UAE Founding Father

“Future generations will be living in a world that is very different from that to which we are accustomed. It is essential that we prepare ourselves and our children for that new world.”

                                                                                          - Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan

To mark the 100 years since the birth of the late Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan, the Founding Father of the UAE, the year 2018 was announced as the Year of Zayed. This historic occasion was observed through various events and initiatives intended to commemorate his legacy and promote the values that he demonstrated throughout his life.

Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan played a crucial role in the union of the seven emirates and was elected as the first president of the UAE. During his leadership, the country witnessed a massive transformation – from its humble beginnings to becoming a global leader and one of the most influential countries in the world.

A leader in its truest essence, he upheld the virtues of unity and openness amidst a region surrounded by conflicts. A true epitome of dignity, peace, and great vision, he left behind a legacy of honourable values such as tolerance, equality, benevolence, and generosity that have made a meaningful impact to the UAE and its people.

Achievements of Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan

Formation of the Union

Sheik Zayed initiated the union of the federation. With a forward-thinking vision, he realised that cooperation with other emirates was needed for Abu Dhabi to achieve prosperity. The initial step was meeting Sheikh Rashid bin Saeed Al Maktoum, the Dubai ruler at that time. He then held continuous meetings and consultations among the rulers of different emirates. Ultimately, on 2nd December 1971, the UAE was formed consisting of six emirates –Abu Dhabi, Ajman, Dubai, Fujairah, Sharjah, and Umm al-Quwain). On 11th of February 1972, Ras Al Khaimah joined the union officially. 

 

Development and Construction Projects

During Sheikh Zayed’s leadership, numerous developmental, services, and construction projects were implemented that significantly transformed the UAE, in its entirety. In Abu Dhabi alone, more than AED 162 billion were allocated for these projects from 1968 to 2002. These included the construction of residences, health care infrastructure, educational institutions as well as roads and bridges, and transportation, communication, electricity and water facilities. These initiatives became instrumental in realising Sheikh Zayed’s vision of building a modern nation and providing a high quality of life for the people of UAE. 

 

Global Humanitarian Work

Sheikh Zayed was known for being active in charity and humanitarian works, both in the UAE and internationally. With his mandates, the UAE provided aid amounting to more than AED 98 billion until the latter part of 2000, in the form of grants, loans and financial assistance. Through his governance, the UAE became globally acclaimed as a country at the forefront of giving foreign assistance, apart from ensuring the welfare of its citizens. 

 

Emirati Women Empowerment

Another great contribution of His Highness Sheikh Zayed is the empowerment of women in economic, political, social and cultural aspects.  The dynamic leader always recognised the contributions of Emirati women and their achievements in different sectors. It was also one of his commitments to provide them with equal opportunities and offer the needed support in order to further uplift their status, enhance their capabilities, excel in their chosen field, and strengthen their role in society that will ultimately impact the country’s development.

 

Investment in People

Sheikh Zayed believed that true wealth can be achieved not just by acquiring material riches. He put his trust on his own people and invested in their talents and abilities. He pledged to improve the living standards of Emiratis and enhance their economic and social condition, that will, in turn, enable them to build a great future for the UAE.  He utilised all available resources from oil revenues to run major developmental projects and to establish numerous initiatives that helped build better lives and founded a magnificent nation. 

 

Year of Zayed Initiatives 

In honour of Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan, the Ministry of Economy launched various initiatives and played a dynamic role in implementing activities aimed at commemorating the Founding Father of the UAE.  The Ministry of Economy organised "Zayed Day for Humanitarian Action" as an expression of sincere gratitude for the great contributions of the late Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan. The event highlighted the major achievements of Sheikh Zayed that led UAE to reach historic milestones and achieve global recognition.

The Ministry also distributed copies of the book entitled, “Father of our Nation - Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan”, to its employees in line with the Year of Giving. The highly acclaimed book is a collection of the most prominent quotes and words of Sheikh Zayed.

Most Visited Page

0
Notifications

There are (2) notifications for you

    What's New

    Icon
    Grow in UAE

Communication Channels

Call centre and customer protection
 

خيارات الدخول

  • A+
  • A
  • A-

الألوان المفضلة

الرؤية الليلية

ترجم هذه الصفحة إلى

الوزارة ليست مسؤولة عن إخراج الترجمة من قبل جوجل.

مسار التنقل

اطلع على..

مشاركاتنا في المبادرات الحكومية

ناشر الأصول

null عام زايد

عام زايد

عام زايد

الاحتفاء بإرث القائد المؤسس طيّب الله ثراه

"ستعيش الأجيال القادمة في عالم يختلف تماماً عن ذاك الذي اعتدنا عليه، لذا فمن الضروري أن نعدّ أنفسنا وأولادنا لذاك العالم الجديد" – الشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان.

احتفالاً بالذكرى المئوية لميلاد الشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان طيّب الله ثراه، القائد المؤسس لدولة الإمارات، تمت تسمية عام 2018 "عام زايد"، حيث تم الاحتفاء بهذه المناسبة التاريخية عبر العديد من الفعاليات والمبادرات، تخليداً لإرثه وتدعيماً للمبادئ والقيم التي جسّدها.

لعب الشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان دوراً محورياً في اتحاد الإمارات السبع وتم اختياره ليكون الرئيس الأول للدولة، والتي شهدت خلال فترة حكمه تحولاً هائلاً - من بدايات متواضعة إلى تبوأ مكانة عالمية رائدة كإحدى الدول الأكثر تأثيراً على مستوى العالم.

لقد كان الشيخ زايد رحمه الله قائداً فذاً، جسّد خصالاً طيبة مثل الوحدة والانفتاح في منطقة تحيطها الصراعات، وكان رمزاً للكرامة والسلام والرؤية الثاقبة، تاركاً وراءه إرثاً من المعاني السامية المتمثلة في التسامح والمساواة والإحسان والعطاء، والتي كان لها أثر طيب على الإمارات وساكنيها.

إنجازات الشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان

تأسيس الاتحاد

قام الشيخ زايد بتأسيس اتحاد الإمارات، وذلك بفضل رؤيته المتطلعة إلى المستقبل، وإدراكه لأهمية تعاون أبوظبي مع الإمارات الأخرى من أجل تحقيق الرخاء. وعليه، فقد التقى بالشيخ راشد بن سعيد آل مكتوم، حاكم دبي آنذاك، ومن ثم عقد العديد من اللقاءات وجلسات التشاور المتعاقبة مع حُكام الإمارات كافة. وفي يوم 2 ديسمبر 1971 تأسست دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة وكانت تضم ست إمارات هي أبوظبي وعجمان ودبي والفجيرة والشارقة وأم القيوين، وانضمت لها رأس الخيمة رسمياً في 11 فبراير 1972.

 

مشاريع الإنماء والبناء

تم تنفيذ العديد من المشاريع الإنمائية والخدمية تحت قيادة الشيخ زايد، أدت جميعهاً إلى إحداث تحول جذري في الإمارات. ففي أبوظبي، على سبيل المثال، تم تخصيص أكثر من 162 مليار درهم لإنجاز تلك المشاريع بين عامي 1968 و 2002. تضمنت الأعمال إنجاز المشاريع السكنية ومشاريع البنية التحتية للرعاية الصحية والمؤسسات التعليمية، بالإضافة إلى إنشاء الشوارع والجسور وشبكات النقل والاتصالات ومرافق الكهرباء والماء. وقد كانت تلك المبادرات أساسية في تحقيق رؤية الشيخ زايد لبناء وطن حديث معاصر ولتوفير حياة كريمة لساكني دولة الإمارات.

 

العمل الإنساني

شارك الشيخ زايد في العديد من الأعمال الخيرية والإنسانية داخل الإمارات وخارجها، وقد قام بتخصيص ما يزيد عن 98 مليار درهم حتى أواخر عام 2000 لتقديم المنح والقروض والمساعدات المالية. وخلال فترة حكمه، أصبحت دولة الإمارات في صدارة الدول المانحة للمساعدات الخارجية، إلى جانب اهتمامها الكبير بتحقيق الرفاه لمواطنيها.

 

تمكين المرأة الإماراتية

كما يُعد تمكين المرأة الإماراتية – اقتصادياً وسياسياً واجتماعيا وثقافياً – من أهم إسهامات الشيخ زايد رحمه الله، لا سيما لإدراكه واعتزازه بإنجازات المرأة الإماراتية في شتى المجالات والقطاعات. كما التزم أيضاً بتوفير فرص متكافئة وتقديم الدعم اللازم لتعزيز مكانة المرأة الإماراتية، وتحسين قدراتها، وصقل مهاراتها في مختلف الميادين، وتعزيز دورها في المجتمع، بما ينعكس إيجاباً على نماء وتطور الإمارات.

 

الاستثمار في البشر

كان الشيخ زايد رحمه الله يؤمن بأن الثروة الحقيقية يُمكن تحقيقها ليس فقط مادياً، ولكن بالاستثمار في مواهب وقدرات الإماراتيين. وقد تعهد بتحسين المستوى المعيشي للمواطنين وإثراء أحوالهم الاقتصادية والاجتماعية وبالتالي، تمكينهم من بناء مستقبل عظيم للإمارات. وقد استعان الشيخ زايد بكافة الموارد المتحصلة من عائدات البترول لتنفيذ كبرى المشاريع الإنمائية ولإطلاق العديد من المبادرات التي أسهمت في تحسين حياة الكثيرين وفي بناء دولة عظيمة.

 

مبادرات عام الشيخ زايد

أطلقت وزارة الاقتصاد مختلف المبادرات ولعبت دوراً محورياً في تنفيذ الأنشطة التي تحتفي بالشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان القائد المؤسس لدولة الإمارات. تمثّل ذلك في تنظيم "يوم زايد للعمل الإنساني"، تعبيراً عن الامتنان والعرفان لإسهاماته العظيمة، حيث سلّطت الفاعلية الضوء على إنجازات الشيخ زايد رحمه الله التي أوصلت الإمارات إلى المكانة العالمية التي تتمتع بها اليوم.

كما قامت الوزارة أيضاً بتوزيع نسخ من كتاب "والد الأمة – الشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان" على موظفيها، بالتزامن مع "عام الخير"، والذي يرصد أبرز الأقوال والكلمات المأثورة لمؤسس الدولة المغفور له الشيخ زايد بن سلطان طيب الله ثراه.   

الصفحات الأكثر زيارة

0
Notifications

There are (2) notifications for you

    What's New

    Icon
    ازدهر في الإمارات